What is a secondary burn?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bvpbill

Dec 23, 2007
Maryland
Hi all:
Newbie here, but not new to burning wood. Been using wood for years.
I would like to know what the secondary burn is and secondary burn tubes.
Not familiar with the terms.
Thanks,
Bill

Secondary burn is the "re-burning" of the off gasses that occur during the pre-coaling stages of burning wood.

Burn tubes is one of 2 methods to generate this secondary burn. It is basically a set of tubes at the top of the burn box that gets "super" heated during the burn process. Additional air is feed to these tubes (which have holes in them). When the smoke meets super heated burn tubes with the extra oxygen being pumped in at the same point.....whooof. You got fire. It burns the nasties up (fuel), reduces emissions, and creates a really cool light show at the top of the burn box.

The other method is a catalytic reactor. Does the same thing, just a different way.

bvpbill said:
Thanks Jags. Makes sense to me now.
Bill

Good, cuz I wasn't too sure it made sense to ME! :)

During the first phase of burning (first two phases, to some degree), wood will boil off burnable gases, and smoke particles, faster than there is oxygen available in the primary air to burn them. Increasing the primary air just increases the primary fire and the boil-off rate, without doing much to promote additional burning of the burnable gasses.