What is the minimum suggested winter storage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Woodbee burner

Sep 15, 2014
Nevada
Hello I am new to wood and just bought 4 cords of wood and a wood stove. I live in the city so interior storage space can be a bit of a premium. I have most of the wood stacked in single rows with the bark facing up along the perimeter of my yard.

Also, I live in a dry climate with some occasional snow (5-10 times a year and usually melted within a day or two). Rain here is usually short lived.

I am just finishing clearing an area that will store 3/4 cord and I would be able to store a 3ft long stack next to my back door as well.

My question. Is it reasonable to leave most or all of your wood out in the elements in winter and even burn directly from those stacks or must your wood be in covered storage? Also can I stack the wood rows so they touch if they are dry?

I have pine at about 22 % and mixed hardwood (oak, almond) 20 % moisture according to my cheap meter after splitting a few.

Any help would be appreciated.

I wouldn't worry about getting it inside at all. Head over to your local lumber yard and get the lumber covers they take off their boards. They will work great at keeping the rain and snow off your wood! If your wood is completely dry as you mention I would try to cover it ALL the way around. If its still a tad wet just top cover it. If some does get a little wet from rain or snow getting under the cover, just make sure you uncover it on the nice days so the surface moisture can dry back up