What is your opinion of chainsaws over the years?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Eisele

Mar 21, 2009
South Jersey
Hello everyone I am new to this page but have learned a bunch of good information here about the wood burning buisness so thank you very much. I am curious about opinions on newer and older versions of chainsaws. For example I have a two year old Stihl Ms 310 20" saw and I like it very much but I also inherited a Stihl 011av 16" saw from the late 80s that is a really bad ass saw. Now these two saws take care of all of my needs from felling to bucking logs but I have to say the older 011av is a much better saw in my eyes. It has served my family well for over 20 years with minimal problems and still saws like a beast. Dont get me wrong the Ms 310 is a very good saw but its just not as good as the old 011av. Such as having to stop and clean out the bar and slots so much because the 310 gets clogged with wood chips and stops throwing enough oil. To the amount of power the 011av throws out it definatley feels like it has more balls to me than my bigger ms 310. But I have to say I enjoy the starting system, oil and gas cap design and better chain tension location on the newer saw. But on the newer saw everyting is plastic and the older saw not. I guess they just dont make them like they use to. I only hope the Ms310 serves my family as well as the good old 011av has because that would make a big statement in my eyes about Stihl saws.