What should the inside of my masonary chimney look like?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

albertj03

Minister of Fire
Oct 16, 2009
Southern Maine
I'm a wood burning newbie going into my second year with my woodstove. I was wondering what it should look like when I look up my chimney with a mirror and flash light through the cleanout door at the bottom? It's a masonary chimney with a clay flue starting from the basement of my two story colonial. I had it cleaned by a certified chimney sweep a couple months ago and he said it looked really good in there with minimal creosote (I burned about 1.5 - 2 cords last winter). I'm burning the same types of wood seasoned for about the same length or time as last year although I had some poplar last year and probably have a little more red oak this year.

So far I've probably burned 3 or 4 days and I looked up the chimney with a mirror and flash light today and it looked like there was a very thin coat of very fine light grey ash inside there. Is this what it should look like? Maybe I can take a picture once I get the battery charged for my better flash light tomorrow.