What temperature do you burn at?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Lumberjack

Jan 2, 2008
Western CT
I posted this question earlier but it might have gotten buried as it was part of a response to another thread...

What temperature do people burn there stoves at? I have a PE Pacific insert with a magnetic thermometer on the upper right corner. As I am just learning about how this stove burns, I have been keeping the temp low, less than 400 degrees F. I had it go up to 550F this evening and want to know if this is normal or was that too hot?

Thanks!

Need Hog, he has a PE insert of some sort and I think he has dueling thermometers on the front. He can tell you what temps he gets.

Typcial stovetop burn is 350-450 for me. However, my stove can be pushed to the 500s with a bit of effort.

Lumberjack said:
I posted this question earlier but it might have gotten buried as it was part of a response to another thread...

What temperature do people burn there stoves at? I have a PE Pacific insert with a magnetic thermometer on the upper right corner. As I am just learning about how this stove burns, I have been keeping the temp low, less than 400 degrees F. I had it go up to 550F this evening and want to know if this is normal or was that too hot?

Thanks!

That stove is just loafing at 400. 550 is just getting warm. It can and should run hotter to keep the flue clean. Assuming the thermometer is reading correctly (always a big assumption), you can safely burn all day at 600 in that stove.

woodjack said:
Where do you guys put your thermometer?