What to do for auxiliary heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ControlFreak

Feeling the Heat
Jan 15, 2008
Holden, MA
Hi Guys,

I've been heating for about 11 years with wood, using oil as backup. This coming winter, I want to entirely eliminate any use of oil. I don't even want to hear the word. So, I will need a secondary heat source for the times when the stove needs a little help. Here are the options I see:
1. Oil -- Hey, hey!!! I don't want to use that word any more.
2. Electric -- easiest but expensive.
3. Propane insert -- really easy to run, expensive to run, already have one of these.
4. Pellet stove -- easy to run and install, reasonable cost for heat, expensive to buy one of these.
5. Second wood stove -- more work to run and install, cheap heat, not too expensive to buy.

What do you guys do for a secondary heat source? I know a lot of you have two wood stoves. Anybody use pellets for a secondary heat source?

Thanks,

Dan

We use the electric wall heaters. The ones with an element inside and a fan to blow air out. They are 220 volt, though 110 volt units are available, and consume 1000-2000 watts when running. Individual programmable thermostats for each room allows great zone heating. No tripping hazard, no special fuel to buy, almost no maintenance, DIY install if you aren't afraid of electricity, dependable simple devices with no duct loss, and they are cheap to buy at local hardware stores. These things only cost money when you use them.