What to look for in a used stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

atracksler

Apr 13, 2011
Kittery, ME
We are getting on the pellet stove bandwagon. We have narrowed our search down to the Quad Fore Castile, Mt Vernon or the Hartman Acentra.

I dont have any real pellet stove experience, and we are buying used.

What are the things that I should be looking for in a used stove. If it were a car or banjo, I'd know what I'm looking for and where the weak parts are, i'm a newbie to the pellet stove and could use some advice..

Thanks in advance, ad.

this is a tough one...in most cases, I think it would be hard to tell how a unit has been treated, unless the owners dont clean it up before you get to see it. Structurally, I suppose the obvious..like cracks in the body are a given, but the tricky parts are motors,sensors and the ultra important control board. If possible, you wanna see the unit run...even if its not installed..you can set it up outside to make sure everything moves ok and doesn't make obnoxious noises.

Welcome to the Board

Most major brands are good.
The quads are a good one as are the others you mentioned.

Look at the overall condition of the cabinet, is it clean and free of damage due to abuse or HARD USE.

Look in the fire box and look for serious rust from sitting in a damp/wet place.

Open the side/rear of the mechanical cabinet and look for signs that the stove has not been cleaned or has been invaded and has critters calling it home.