What type of fireplace can I use with my present setup?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Prometheus10

Oct 10, 2009
BC Canada
Hello all, I am new to Hearth and have come seeking advise. My wife and I purchased our first home a few months ago and we have gotten mostly setup but we are looking at this unfinished area in our basement and don't know what options are available for us. We presently have a older Montigo gas fireplace upstairs and an unfinished area with a fresh air intake and large chimney pipe that is covered. I guess the main question is which type of fireplace can we use with what is already there, Gas or wood? What do we need to do do to make a surround if we went to a gas insert? I am leaning that way as it has more pros then cons for us. Thanks for your insight.

Attachments

• DSCF0122small.jpg
    DSCF0122small.jpg
    47.9 KB · Views: 414
  • DSCF0123small.jpg
    DSCF0123small.jpg
    44.9 KB · Views: 423
  • DSCF0127small.jpg
    DSCF0127small.jpg
    76.2 KB · Views: 405
  • DSCF0125small.jpg
    DSCF0125small.jpg
    76 KB · Views: 406
Get yourself a DV gas fireplace. The only downside that I can see
is that you're gonna hafta blast thru the concrete wall to vent it,
unless you get one that can use a Class A chimney adapter kit...
That is, of course, assuming that the blocked off vent shown in
your pic IS Class A...
As far as an insert, you'll hafta build something to insert it into,
& the prices for inserts, themselves, tend to be higher than the costs
of DV fireplaces...PLUS the liner kit may not fit the existing vent...