What's the warmest outside temp at which I should try to light my stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

williaty

Jan 12, 2015
Licking County, Ohio
I installed a new Ideal Steel stove on Saturday and it's my first woodstove so I'm not an expert burner. I'd like to get the break-in burns out of the way so it'll stop stinking (and then I can close the windows) but the weather isn't fully cooperating. The stove is fed by an OAK, the flue is connected to the top, and has 12' of double wall topped by 5' of Class-A in a straight shot on top of it.

Given the stove install and my lack of experience, what's the warmest outdoor temperature at which I should attempt to light the stove?

There is no real limit, though at 90F the house is going to be very uncomfortable. With a straight up install I would just go ahead and do it now to get the paint baked in while windows can be open.

It should draft ok at 55F with a bypass for starting and a straight up chimney.

It will draft fine at 55 degrees, fire that mother up!

You can light a stove at any temp for the purposes you are describing.
At my house, if it is above 60 degrees, of course the stove will work fine, the problem is it will roast you out of the house in about an hour.