1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Whats your back up when you lose power

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Fish On, Nov 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mnkywrnch

    mnkywrnch Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    560
    Loc:
    Baldwinville ma
    Your right it is a bit pricey,but it came with everything and I can plug it in outside the house yours you have to bring the cord in,plus you still have to buy the cord that goes from the gen to the panel and depenpending on the run that could get expensive.So in that sense its not to expensive.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Romy

    Romy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Loc:
    Maine
  3. Deere10

    Deere10 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Loc:
    Upstate N.Y
    I have a 6500 watt generator. During power outages I only run what is needed (water pump,fridge,freezer,hate to say it oil fired water heater) NO to the computer,No to the big tvs due to power spikes from the generator. Does any one else do this or just me?? to expensive to replace these items. Just watch the small tv s Guess the laptop computer may be ok just not the desktop style that is plugged into the wall.
  4. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,988
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    Me too. Last time I ran it an hour at a time to warm up the place (although the place was okay, the small flush wood insert did not keep it toasty), take showers, flush toilets, store water, etc. When the deep well kicks in the 7500 W generator bogs a bit. I'm trying to conserve the life of the generator, not use that much fuel, keep noise down, etc.
  5. ChandlerR

    ChandlerR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    643
    Loc:
    Hampton, NH
    Jeez, why couldn't I have thought of that interlock kit! So simple. Oh well, I was rewiring my house anyways so the transfer switch was easy. Maybe I can use the interlock on the upstairs apartment.

    Chandler
  6. amick780

    amick780 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Loc:
    Northern New York
    I have a Generac 8,000 running watt 12,000 starting watt portable(not really) generator. I run it thru a interlock feeding the panel. I can run most of my house with this unit. All but the bigger load circuts. Was glad I had it last year during the ice storm. We did not have power for 6 days.
  7. vgrund

    vgrund Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    375
    Loc:
    Amherst, NH
    Kohler 12RES whole house generator. After 2 major power outages since 2005, I consider it a wise and essential investment.
  8. snikr

    snikr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Loc:
    Wallingford, VT
    My backup is a good ole Kawasaki 4k watt generator hooked up to some select circuits.
  9. teetah222

    teetah222 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Loc:
    WA state
    How much $, and where is it sitting? Extension cords through the house? Would be my best option too if it's cheap enough, since power almost never goes out here, and then only for a few hours.

    oh, never mind... just pulled the link. That's ridiculously overpriced IMO.
  10. mark d fellows

    mark d fellows New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Loc:
    Westmisnter, MD
    I second that, yes the guy would get electrocuted, and you would probably spend some time in jail. The voltage from your generator would get steped up quite a bit to line voltage. I think at the curb before step down transformer it is 600 volts, so that is what your little 120 volt generator would get stepped up to.

    Mark
  11. seige101

    seige101 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    558
    Loc:
    Palmer, MA
    The secondary voltage (120/240) is what is at your house. The primaries vary from 5,000 volts in say a city block, to 13,800 in a more rural setting. High tension lines run from 138kv to 750kv
  12. fluemasterjr

    fluemasterjr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    not done yet but for my Mt. Vernon i am planning to run the 12 volt wires for the battery back up down to my basement and outside where it will plug into the 7 wire on my pickup so i can run it off the 2 1000 amp batteries under the hood that should keep us going as long as I am home plus i have a wood stove. i am also looking it to a generator but the money isn't there for that yet.
  13. krooser

    krooser Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,423
    Loc:
    Waupaca, WI
    We've had maybe three power outages in the last 22 years... none lasting more tha a few hours. That said, I'd like to get a small NG standy generator if, for no other reason, than to keep the lights on when I don't pay my electric bill!!!!!
  14. krooser

    krooser Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,423
    Loc:
    Waupaca, WI
  15. teetah222

    teetah222 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Loc:
    WA state
    Yeah, that's a better price. I'm holding off for now because a friend of mine has a small generator that needs a little work that he may sell me for cheap.
  16. Leland

    Leland New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Delaware
    Thelin Parlour 3000

    Just bought it in January. Apparently, just in time for the untimely failure of my 15 year old heat pump, and the Great East Coast blizzard. We got the bad news about the heat pump on Friday afternoon, and by evening we were on the "emergency power" feature of our heating system (the feature where it barely keeps up, and causes your electric meter to spin wildly), when it began snowing. We were using the Thelin to supplement the electric heating system. Then, we lost power at 4:00 AM. Even though the Thelin has a battery back-up system, I had not yet purchased the necessary cables from the company, so I had a car battery and 300 watt voltage inverter standing by. Fortunately, I got it switched over before the house got smoked up, and before the flames went out. This gave me time to fire up the ...



    Honda EU2000i Generator

    We bought the generator last summer for when we go camping in our little Airstream trailer. One of the best investments I've ever made. It has always started on the first pull, quiet, and dependable. In fact, right now, it's powering the Thelin (only 27 watts), a light, the heater in the Airstream, and the laptop w/air card I'm using to type this. Earlier, I even had the HDTV hooked in for the Super Bowl.

    Now, we're in our third day without power, and I haven't even seen a snow plow. We live well outside of civilization (in more ways than one), so we're not exactly a priority with the road crews or the utility company. Having plenty of time on my hands, I decided to make up my own cables for the Thelin's back-up system, using two battery clamps, three feet of # 10 wire, and two banana plugs. After I connected the battery to the stove, I tested it by unplugging the Thelin from the generator. It worked flawlessly. It came to the real test when some idiot (me) forgot to fuel up the generator, and woke up in the dark, but with one fully functioning pellet stove.

    I'm glad I made these two investments. Both have made surviving this ordeal comfortable.
  17. Whimpster

    Whimpster Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia Canada
    My backup is a SR3 3 cylinder Lister diesel with a Stamford 13.5 KVA generator.
    Came out of a lighthouse in Nova Scotia.
    Also have a 1600 watt UPS with two batteries that run my stove for 10hrs on batteries.

    Harman P61A
  18. kdp7462

    kdp7462 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    This has been a great thread...thank you to the starter of it! I never really thought too much about a generator since we have only lost power once in about 6 yrs living here(in maine, thats not bad!) However, you've got me thinking that "just in case" I should have some sort of back up. Would something like this work for the pellet stove and maybe a light or two? We have electric hot water, but I don't think we would be able to run it with something like this:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ETQ-Portable-Ga...iewItemQQptZBI_Generators?hash=item1c100af0e7
  19. Leland

    Leland New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Delaware

    Check the wattage of the devices and appliances you want to run, add them up, and match them to the wattage capability of your generator. Each electrical device should have that information printed on a label, or stamped somewhere on the appliance. Keep in mind that some devices, such as compressors, refrigerators, etc. require more power on start up than when they are actually running. The better generators can compensate for this brief power surge. Devices that heat by resistance, such as water heaters, typically have high wattage requirements, and many are 220 volts. Something else to consider is whether or not the generator has the type of inverter that produces electricity suitable for sensitive equipment, such as computers or televisions. Because of the circuit boards, I wouldn't run my pellet stove on anything that didn't have inverter technology. Wattage is only one consideration. Not all generators are created equal.

    This is the first time we have ever lost power for more than a few hours. If we hadn't got the generator for the camper, it would have been ugly. The 2 feet of snow we just got was on top of a foot that we still had from last week. We're expecting 3-6 inches more snow tomorrow, possibly more. I've never seen anything like here in Delaware. I would imagine it's far worse in Maine.
  20. exoilburner

    exoilburner Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    424
    Loc:
    NW Washington State
    Right on mac! Wow...........NOT SAFE for people or equipment!!
  21. Snowy Rivers

    Snowy Rivers Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,439
    Loc:
    NW Oregon
    Coleman suitcase 1700 watt generator.

    Will run a pellet stove for about 3 hours on a tank of fuel.

    Sleep for 3 hours at night, get up, fill the tank anf go again.

    Not perfect but it works.

    The times we lose power are with big wind and heavy ice or snow and have tree s fall across the wires.

    Would like a wood stove backup but am not going to install any more stoves.


    Snowy
  22. BIGISLANDHIKERS

    BIGISLANDHIKERS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    My Quad has battery backup. Last winter when we lost power for 2 days I used an extra car battery. When that ran a bit low I pulled it off and switched it out with the battery out of my car and drove around the country to recharged it. I swapped these back and forth until the power came back on. Each recharge ran the stove for about 6 hours. It would have gone longer but I tried to make sure I didn't run them down too much before switching. It wasn't ideal but it got us through.


    BIH
  23. rickwa

    rickwa New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Loc:
    ohio
    What are you using for a UPS?
  24. rickwa

    rickwa New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Loc:
    ohio
    Tony, How did you come up with this for 900? was it used?
  25. tinkabranc

    tinkabranc Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,641
    Loc:
    South Coast MA
    Both stoves use APC XS1300VA- 780 watts.
    Gives me approx 45 mins to get out the generator if needed.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page