Which Brand of Pellets?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacques909

Aug 2, 2013
Maine
Hi everyone, I'm new to the wood pellet/pellet stoves and I'm curios to what brand of pellets people are buying that live in Maine and where they are buying them from?

Welcome to the forum my friend not from Maine, but plenty of folks here are and they can help you out. You might want to put what brand stove you have in your signature. :)

Depends on where you live and what is being offered to ya. Get us that info and we might be able to point you in the right direction. But your stove will tell you what it likes to eat.

I live in Pittsfield, Maine. I Haven't bought the stove yet but leaning towards a Harman p61. Today I went to Saint Albans stove shop in Palmyra and they are offering a ton of Crabbe pellets with the purchase of a new stove.

I Haven't bought the stove yet but leaning towards a Harman p61
Great choice! Harman's are not pellet picky will burn whatever you toss in the hopper, some pellets are more ashy than others.

Picking a non fuel fussy stove can take a lot of the buyers remorse out both the purchase of the stove and pellets in the years to come. So what if you have a bit more ash. With the Harman p series it means you may have to empty the ash bin in less than a ton and a quick sweep of the firebox. :)

Hancock Lumber in Pittsfield sells pellets.
Do you know what kind and how much, and if they deliver? I'm going to have to find a dealer that delivers pellets.