Which Jotul should I buy?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pdilorenzo

Apr 30, 2008
Saratoga Springs, NY
I'm new to wood stoves, but I've been reading this forum for a couple of months. Based upon reviews in this forum and a friend's recommendation, I've decided to go with a Jotul. The question is whether I get the Castine or the Oslo.

My house is 2800 square feet and located near albany, ny. The room the wood stove will be in is 450 sf. I'd like to be able to replace 60-70% of my fuel oil usage with wood. (1200gallons this past season)
The wood stove will be installed in my masonry fireplace with an external masonry chimney. The fireplace opening is 28 1/2" wide and 26" high. I'm pretty sure I can take some of the brick off to get 6inches vertically, but I can't make it any wider, because of the metal firebox.

The Oslo is 28 1/4" wide and the Castine is 26 1/2 wide.

I'll be able to set the Castine into the hearth opening a few inches and that will result in a smaller hearth. I can't do that with the Oslo.

The questions I have:
Do you think I will lose much of the heating capability of the Castine by placing it set back into the fireplace opening?
Will the Castine be too small for my house?

another question.... For either stove, should I get an insulated flexible liner?
Thanks for the advice.