Which new bar?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a Stihl 260 pro with an 18" bar. The bar is toast.

What are the best options? Should I go directly to the Stihl dealer? I like Stihl chains, but I don't know if Oregon bars are comparable quality- then there's a bunch of different Oregon bars, and... blah blah blah

I don't mind spending a little extra. help

Bring the bar in and see if it can be re-ground and re-tipped. I've been using an Oregon bar on my husky 272xp (20in) for about 8 years and I've no complaints. Stihl, Husky Oregon bars ...pretty much all the same if you're a homeowner cutting 20 cords a year imo...

...just say'en I always grease the tips if I have a bar with the fitting.

Adios Pantalones said:

What are the best options? Should I go directly to the Stihl dealer? I like Stihl chains, but I don't know if Oregon bars are comparable quality- then there's a bunch of different Oregon bars, and... blah blah blah

Were it me i'd get another Stihl bar...you don't have to worry about compatiblilty and it's not like you have to buy em' that often.
You say your bar is toast..splain?

I personally like sticking with the Stihl bar and chains. I also believe if you only have one saw it's definately a good idea to have a spare bar for the those DOH! :shut: moments when you are thinking about something else and you do something stupid.

woodconvert said:
Adios Pantalones said:

Were it me i'd get another Stihl bar...you don't have to worry about compatiblilty and it's not like you have to buy em' that often.
dito

woodconvert said: