Which saws do most of you use

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

KYrob

Jan 8, 2010
KY
I have been contemplating getting either a MS 250 or MS 290. Also checked out the Husky rancher. Which saw would be best for longevity and cutting about 5 cords per year. Trees are no more than 20 inches through if that. I am kinda leaning towards the MS 250 due to weight and it being 15 cc bigger than the 25 year old poulan I have been using for that many years. Opinions?

Thanks,
Rob

I think Stihl, Husky, and Dolmar all make quality saws that will cut well and last if used and maintained correctly. Many people own saws of other brands that have served them well for many years, but these are the three that seem to be the industry leaders in terms of quality and longevity. You might want to use whichever one has a dealer close by that you like to do business with. You may find that one brand feels better in your hands than another as well, so it's a good idea to hold each one to see what feels right. Good luck with the hunt!

The folks in the Woodshed and Gear forums are very passionate about their saws - you are likely to get a bunch of strong opinions on them there! (Unless they are all out cutting wood...)

Good morning Rob