Which stove for my home / area...osburn 2400, osburn 2200, other?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

roscolo

Aug 29, 2006
I'm a newb here. Looking for some help determining which wood stove to go with. Info. and reviews of Osburn have impressed me. Here's the specs on my house:

I am near Athens, Georgia. The coldest it gets here is usually 24 - 32 F.
My house was built in 1999. Square feet is 2,800.
Floor is exposed concrete (acid-stained, try it, you'll save a ton of construction cost and have a great looking floor) throughout the house.
Floor plan is very open. My house is a big box with simple gable roof (metal)..folks think I converted an old barn to a house. One room takes up half the floor plan at 1,450 sq. feet. Cathedral ceiling in this room slopes from 10 ft. to 14 ft. Has ceiling fans.
All but one of the rest of the rooms (there are only 5 more room) all feed off the great room. There are no hallways. These rooms have 10 ft. ceilings. I over-insulated beyond code requirements with cellulose insulation.

Right now I'm leaning towards the Osburn 2400, although I'm thinking the smaller 2200 may do just as well. I want this stove to be my only heat source. I grew up near here and we heated a similar size house with a Fisher stove in the basement. I will have to order via online retailer, fireplacesnow dot com, as there is no dealer anywhere near here, so any suggestions regarding any of the above are welcome and desired! Any other stove suggestions welcomed as well.

Thanks

Wood stove dealer in Athens
Birchmore Pool & Spa
154 Oneta Street
Athens 30601