1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Whirlpool cloths washer

Post in 'DIY and General non-hearth advice' started by moondoggy, Oct 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moondoggy

    moondoggy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Loc:
    Long Island NY
    hey all,
    ok the machine is old....~10 yrs. havent moved it out for a model # yet.
    the agitator doesnt really "grind" back and forth like it should, and rotate the cloths. just kind of seems loose.
    BUT if i apply a little pressure with my thumb on the top of the agitator, it begins to twist back and forth like it should.

    any ideas on where i should start before i wing it?
    ...... or is this a common problem with easy fix?

    seems like it should be a simple fix, but I'm clueless as to what i'm lookng for.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. moondoggy

    moondoggy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Loc:
    Long Island NY
    um, i pulled the cap of the agitator off, everything looked ok, tight and accounted for... but i like the "add a washer" idea.
    i dread pulling this thing apart, with a family of 4 i cant go with out it if i screw up and cant get it back together.
    but you can tell by watching it, its not really cleaning the cloths.
    thanks Reese.
  3. Redox

    Redox Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Loc:
    Burbs of B'more, MD, Hon!
    Sounds like the agitator is stripped out. Pull off the center cap, remove the stud that holds it down and yank up on the agitator. If you can't get the stud out because the shaft is spinning, you will have to lock the transmission. Somewhere on the timer dial is a mark that has no explanation. Setting it there will put the machine in the agitate mode without water and lock the transmission to the motor and let you undo the stud holding the agitator down (shut it off, obviously). The agitator has internal splines that seat on the transmission shaft coming up through the tub. In the old days, there was a block that could be replaced, but I think it's one piece now. I haven't heard of any temporary fixes that work, so you will probably need to replace the whole agitator.

    Look for the 7 digit FSP part number that will probably be on the bottom of the agitator. Plug that number into Google and see what hits you get. It's probably about $50 for a new one. Make sure the shaft splines aren't buggerd up or you will be doing this again soon.

    PM me if you run into problems. I used to service appliances and Whirlpools were my favorites!

    Chris
  4. moondoggy

    moondoggy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Loc:
    Long Island NY
    oh chris you rock.
    i will let you know when i get the tear down started.if i can tonight.
    i appreciate it !
  5. blujacket

    blujacket Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Loc:
    West Carrollton,Ohio
    You need part# 80040 agitator dogs. Should be 4 of them in a pack. I'm an appliance parts dealer. That is what you need.
  6. moondoggy

    moondoggy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Loc:
    Long Island NY
    geez, forums are a marvelous place.
    you all kick ass.
    I'm goning to attack it just to make sure, you guys will be the first to know.


    edit
    yo checked out the "agitator dogs" ..... online, your probably right, sounds liek the symptoms.
    got a nice breakdown pic too.

    wish i could get out of work and go get this done.
    between wife and 2 kids, laundry down is a code red situation.
  7. Redox

    Redox Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Loc:
    Burbs of B'more, MD, Hon!
    Sorry, I didn't realize you had a two piece agitator. I thought Sears was the only one using them...

    Chris
  8. moondoggy

    moondoggy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Loc:
    Long Island NY
    dont apologize man, you gave me great direction, and more then anything you took the time out to give input.
    i pulled it apart last night... it is those little 'dogs'.
    gonna see if i can grab them locally and get back up running.
    again you guys kick ass, I cant thank you enough.... you know this would have at least been a $75.00 housecall to service co.

    hope i can return some good info to you all one day!
  9. moshiersr

    moshiersr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Loc:
    Horseheads NY
    To get you by I have taken out the worn agitator dogs and "sharpened" the teeth on them with a file until my new parts came in...
  10. moondoggy

    moondoggy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Loc:
    Long Island NY
    um, might just have to do that... but honestly, there is like nothing left of them on that side, its totally flattened out, and one is cracked.
    i gotta assume HDepot doesnt carry these, going to call the local appliance repair/sales place near by @10:00.
    if i have to order, i will try to sharpen, worst it can do is still not work right.
  11. moondoggy

    moondoggy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    518
    Loc:
    Long Island NY
    YOU GUYS KICK ASS!!

    ~10.00 shipped, a few minutes install, and my cloths are cleaner then ever.

    I cant thank you all enough.

    Hope I can get you back one day.
  12. bcnu

    bcnu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    495
    Way to go Moondoggy. I have an older Kitchenaid washer that stopped spinning. Did some checking and found it is most likely the motor coupler. Ordered one and have the job started. Yes, these forums are a great help
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page