1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Whitfield Advantage II - Can't adjust Blow Speed

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by ChrisWV, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. ChrisWV

    ChrisWV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I finally opened the back of my pellet stove (came with the house 2 years ago), and realized it needed a good cleaning. When I was all done and started the stove up, The blow speed switch on the control board quit working on me. It is stuck in the lowest setting. I took out the convection blower and control board to see if anything was out of place (stuff bent, snapped, wires missing etc.), and to my untrained eye...everything looks fine.

    Everything else works just fine and I don't want to spend $350 on a new control board. Is there a way to maybe unhook the wires from the control board that power the blow speed switch only and just hook up a new one? Is there a way to see if it is the switch that is broken or maybe something else?I don't have a problem with a make-shift solution. This pellet stove just has to get us through the winter....after that...it goes into the garage as surplus.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Pellet-King

    Pellet-King Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,193
    Loc:
    Northern Ct
    Run your stove, using a volt meter check the voltage to the fan, should be 115v, also look inside the blower and make sure it's spinning too
  3. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Good idea. You could also connect the blower to direct 120v and make sure it's not the blower motor that's just old/dirty. Most have lube ports on them too.
  4. ChrisWV

    ChrisWV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Maybe I am not understanding your suggestions. My blower works. I just can't adjust the speed using the blower speed switch on the control board. I cleaned the blower and verified all the wires are connected. It is still running at the same "minimal" speed as if the blower speed switch was at a permanent "1" setting....so I don't think it is the blower?
  5. imacman

    imacman Guest

    What I was trying to say is that you try running the blower using straight 120v. That will confirm that it CAN run faster. If you connect it direct w/ 120v, and it runs the same speed, then it's the blower motor.

    Make a power "test" cord out of an old lamp cord.
    heat seeker likes this.
  6. ChrisWV

    ChrisWV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I will give that a try. Thanks for the tip :)
  7. Pellet-King

    Pellet-King Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,193
    Loc:
    Northern Ct
    Can you adjust the heat temp fine?, maybe while cleaning you knocked off a jumper wire below the control board on the bottom of stove, look at where the tstat jumper is.
    Also is the light blinking?, looked a beat same stove 3 weeks ago and the fan speed was on 1 and blinking
  8. ChrisWV

    ChrisWV New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Happy Day!!!

    Our house is like 90 yrs old, horribly insulated and full of holes. This pellet stove was the only thing keeping my wife from killing me and with the blower spd control busted for over a week...

    So I made a test wire out of an old lamp like the OP suggested. I figured I would look at the thread one more time before playing with live electricity.

    I don't know how old exactly this pellet stove is but there are no lights. I did figure out what the problem is. I think it is the jumper (facing outside on back of stove right next to the outlet). I think it used for people who have a thermostat. Well...the wire that connected the red and black was loose. It won't stay in there tight, but I was able to place the wire just right, so the blower speed finally adjusts like it is supposed to.

    Thanks for the assist guys!
  9. Pellet-King

    Pellet-King Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,193
    Loc:
    Northern Ct
    Glad to see you figured it out!, must have the older knob style control board then

Share This Page