Whitfield Cascade help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Funny Face

Oct 13, 2010
NH
Hi Everyone. I am new to the pellet stove world and have a question regarding my stove. I bought a used Whitfield Cascade off of Craigslist at the end of last heating season ( I know, I know, stupid on my part). I ran it on low a couple of times after I bought it and had no problems. This year, I fired it up and everything seemed to work great. One night there was a funny smell coming from it so I decided to just let it burn while I was awake and shut it down at bedtime. When I went to shut it down, the blower motor had stopped running but the auger was still feeding the fire. I shut the stove down and decided to look at it in the morning. It fired right up the next day. I took it apart and who ever owned it prior to me had bypassed a bunch of wires. I think it was the high limit snap and the vacuum hose. I reconnected them and thought my problem was fixed. Now when I run my stove after about 2 hours, everything except the auger shuts down. No pellets are being fed but the light is on as if it's still calling for pellets to be fed into the burn pot. Any info you guys can give would be GREATLY appreciated.