Whitfield Profile 20: Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mechelement

Dec 30, 2013
Kuna, ID
Hello, I'm a noob to this forum and pellet stoves. The house we bought in Kuna, ID (SW Idaho, just South of Boise) came with a Whitfield Profile 20 stove. I'm burning Strawberry Mountain premium pellets (100% Douglas Fir) and heating a 2,500 SF ranch with it. Carefully placed air circulators makes this possible, thanks to the search function here.

The stove has a typical 4" pipe to the ceiling and then changes to a double wall through the attic, penetrates the roof and continues up 3' above the peak. Roof is a 4:12 pitch and the chimney/pipe is on the East side of the peak. Prevailing winds are usually out of the West-North-West.

I cleaned the entire stove and installed a new fire brick before deciding to heat the house with this setup.

Here is what I've noticed thus far:

When burning, embers tend to fly out if the burn pot and land next to it creating piles of ash. The embers die when they land. Is this normal?

I always get a clinker in the right corner of the pot closest to the door within 48 hours of constant use. Feed or air?

I have to clean the ash up or push it into the catch basin below every couple of days because the ash is built up on the left side of the pot to the pot's rim. Too much feed and/or air?

Running on low/medium/high, the flame size tends to jump around - get small, then large, then medium and cycle. Damper? Flame sensor "eye"?