Whitfield WP2 Advantage Free Standing

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

LazyJ

Nov 26, 2016
Idaho
Hello all. I am new to this sort of thing, but I am interested in learning more about the performance and install of a WP2 Advantage Free Standing Pellet Stove I have recently acquired. Could any one please tell me what the performance rating per sf I can expect to heat with this stove? I realize it depends on some different factors, but in general terms would be appreciated. Also, feel free to share thoughts and history on this model of stove. I am just in the early stages of setting it. Taking out a smaller Whitfield WP4 Quest, in hopes to generate more heat in the house.

Thanks Lake Girl! Darn, I was hoping that due to the physical size difference it would be a better performer than just +/- 5000 btu's (not sure what that means exactly). Perhaps I should keep the Quest in place since the Advantage 2 has a higher exhaust than the Quest, which will require a new wall penetration and patch repair to the existing Vent hole. Is the small gain in btu's worth my time?

How marginal is the Quest on heating? 5,000 btu/hour extra on high is a positive shift up but only you can figure out whether it is worth the repair job.