Whitfield wp2 insert fan problem

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Emilio

Nov 30, 2011
Western Washington
Hello all, I'm a newbie to the forum, which is very informative to me, So here is my problem, the convection fan is running hi when my auger goes on, but then it slows down to the setting I put it on, and so forth. My question here is, is this a control board issue, or a fan issue?...your input would be much appreciated..

The control board is taking a Poop.

The convection fan should run at whatever speed you set it at.

The Whit's use a Triac to control the fan speed.

To complicate things, the fan speed is also governed by the fuel feed rate (Heat setting)

With the heat setting on a higher level the fan will only run just so low.

To get a very low fan setting requires that the stove be on a low setting.

Snowy

Snowy, thank you for replying, I had a hunch it was the control board, since I took out the fan, and thoroughly cleaned it, and the surrounding area, but still continued with the problem..at this point it works great aside the fan issue..should I stop using it, and maybe get another board, or would it be cheaper to get this board repaired?..

Control board. I had the same thing happen many years ago. Replaced the motor, same problem. Then the auger started acting up. Replace the auger, same problem. Control board was the culprit.

I am curious how old your stove is. Mine was from the early 90's and had the OLD control board with knobs. The replacement was a touch pad.