Who burns 24/7?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
W

WellSeasoned

I do, but what I'm doing different from last year, I plan on keeping the oil burner off. I can get usuable heat for overnight, but there will be extremely cold and windy nights when the wife and I will take turns every other night to get up to restoke the fire. I remember last year near morning hearing the oil kick in, and I would jump out of bed to get the stove going. I just plain dont want to depend on oil for heating. Be well

I have been burning 24/7 for about 5 years now, I have an oil fired water heater and that's all the oil I use all winter. The furnace almost never comes on for heat. Although I'm dealing with a new stove this year so it will take some time to get used to it I'm sure. My old stove had an ash bin so I could let it die down a little and empty the ash without interrupting the fire too much.

Reactions: WellSeasoned
I burn 24/7. I have Electric ceiling heat and can't/won't afford to use it. I have had the breakers off since we bought the place. This will be the 7th year of only wood heat.

I leave the oil burner set at 60 just in case. The only time it ran last year was my monthly test. As soon as the radiators heated up, about 10 minutes, I shut it down again. I have not used oil for heat in 3 seasons.

KaptJaq