Who else cleaned there chimney today?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

xman23

Minister of Fire
Oct 7, 2008
Lackawaxen PA
The plan has always been to clean the chimney at the end of the burn season. That's never happened. So today the roof shingles were cool so I got up on the roof. It was bad, opened up the stove, found 3 inches of ash, 2 half burnt pieces of wood. I don't recall ever leaving the stove not cleaned but this year we did. It wasn't me that did that, my wife is not real good at shoulder season burns. I'm not good at pointing out the issue, so I just cleaned up the mess. I top down, with a few ladders on the roof tied off to the chimney. Two new fire bricks and cleaned the inside of the stove to bare metal. Easier to check for any cracks. About three hours to do it all.

If you didn't do it today, get er done.

The plan has always been to clean the chimney at the end of the burn season. That's never happened. So today the roof shingles were cool so I got up on the roof. It was bad, opened up the stove, found 3 inches of ash, 2 half burnt pieces of wood. I don't recall ever leaving the stove not cleaned but this year we did. It wasn't me that did that, my wife is not real good at shoulder season burns. I'm not good at pointing out the issue, so I just cleaned up the mess. I top down, with a few ladders on the roof tied off to the chimney. Two new fire bricks and cleaned the inside of the stove to bare metal. Easier to check for any cracks. About three hours to do it all.

If you didn't do it today, get er done.