Who makes good boots these days?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Poindexter

Minister of Fire
Jun 28, 2014
Fairbanks, Alaska
I have been wearing Wolverine 1529's for about 20 years, 4 pairs of them at ~5 years each. Discontinued model. The new Wolverines didn't feel at all good on my feet in the store.

I brought home a pair of Red Wings, good reputation, but about half an hour on carpet in the house and they are definitely going back tomorrow.

I need/want an 8 to 10" high lace up boot, and either a steel or composite toe. Deep lugs on the sole a plus, watertight is nice but not required. I will be wearing these mostly in the summer for anything from mowing the yard up to felling trees and bucking logs.

They will be one of the three pairs of dry shoes I take on hunting trips in autumn. I got good pull on water tight boots for the boat and excellent winter boots for cold weather.

Just looking for three season safety and comfort that should last a good long time.

Carrhart boots any good? Keene? Caterpillar? Danner?

I'll find something comfortable, but I would rather pick from a short list of known good stuff.

Several threads out there to look at in search for boots. A couple every year. I prefer my Matterhorn's but they cost a car payment.

Reactions: mustangwagz