Who makes the best ash vac?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jonnyd

Oct 3, 2007
hey guys Im relatively new to this whole pellet stove thing and apparently my wife is starting to revolt against cleaning out the ashes with our daughters toy shovel. sooooo, I guess I have to break down and buy the little lady an ash vac. are these things all generally of the same quality or do some companies stick out as far as quality goes. any info would be greatly appreciated. I dont need a hot ash vac I dont htink. thanks

If you don't plan on sucking up hot ashes you can just get a shop-vac from the hardware store and by filters rated for drywall dust of "HEPA" filters. The really cheap filters will let some ash through them.

MoHeat also made a post a while about about a home-made ash vac that I think used a bucket of water to trap the ashes before they made it to the vacuum.

ok thanks, so there is no need for a specific ash vac... i dont have a shop vac so i would have to get that anyway ...would it be easier for me to just get the ash vac ...instead of getting the shop vac with the special filters?????do you know of any brands of ash vacs that are worth buying???

All I know is ash vac cost a LOT more than a normal shop-vac. Other than that I have no experience with them.

ok....is there anyone who knows about ash vacs ..i think i want a hot ash vac this way i dont have to wait for it to cool correct????