1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Why does my chainsaw cuts turn left?

Post in 'The Gear' started by Machria, Nov 26, 2012.

1. Machria

Machria Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Brookhaven, Long Island
    Recently, when I'm bucking logs, and trying to make a straight cut at 18", my saw starts veering to the left, and I end up with 1/2 the log at 18" and the bottom half 15 or 16 inches. I'm no expert with the saw, but I have cut enough to know how to easily cut a fairly straight line. It just seems there is an issue with the chain or blade?? I'm also noticing more sparks than I would normally see coming from the chain in the middle of a cut. Eye sight doesn't show the bar to be bent, but.....?

Whats the deal?

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. blades

blades Minister of Fire

Loc:
    WI, Milw
    Worn bar groove, unequal length cutters , unequal height depth gauges any one of the three or combination will cause your problem, sparks sounds like oiler not working or supplying insufficient oil to bar/chain.
    MasterMech and Thistle like this.
  3. 'bert

'bert Minister of Fire

Loc:
    East of the Rockies West of the Rest, North of 49
    Most likely cause would be the chain not being sharpened equally on both sides. There is also a chance the bar is bent. Try a new chain to see what happens.
  4. Machria

Machria Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Brookhaven, Long Island
    Thanks.... oiler ok, bar is nice and lubbed. I'm going to try a new bar and chain tonight, see what happends.
  5. TreePointer

TreePointer Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Western PA