why has my wood gone mouldy?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lorskimac

May 7, 2009
Ireland
Hi. I'm a bit new to this game and would like the help of some of you experienced wood stackers out there please.

A few months ago we split a load of ash and some other unidentified wood and stacked it to store in our garage. The gararge is cold and draughty. Now the logs feel very wet and are covered in a thick coating of white mould or something like that. There are also outbreaks of orange stuff as well. They're wetter than when we put them in! How can I store my logs for seasoning without this mouldy growth?

Thanks

Lorraine

you are getting mold because you put wet wood in a non-ventilated area.

if you can, let your wood dry outside first, before you stack it indoors. although in your case, if your garage is really damp - the wood might be better off outside all the time and covered with a tarp or something.

I dry my wood outside all spring and summer (or two) , and then move it in to the shed in the fall after I'm sure its all dry.

We put some green wood in my dads shed before and it grew some white fungus on it.

I agree. Wood needs air circulation in order to season properly. If not, it will mold. That is not to say you won't get some mold when it is stacked outdoors but it will be minimal.