Wide open burn....

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

gerry100

Minister of Fire
May 16, 2008
NY Capitol Region
I've been heating with wood for 29 years and am glad it's resurging.

Can't wait to fire up the new Country Canyon that replaced old "Jumbo Moe".

But I'm anticipating a lot of chimney fires with new burners this winter as they learn to control the new stoves.

The same urge that makes us turn up the new stereo as loud as it goes or see how deep the mud is we can ge tinto/out of with the new Jeep etc will make some see how much they can load stove and how long they they can burn and or how well they can control the temp with the levers or knobs.

WRONG.

Default setting for the stove should be wide open air with the temp controlled by the size/amount of pieces you put in.
This is a little more work initially but results in a clean, hot ,very low creosote burn.

After a while , one can almost instinctively control the room temp by tossing in the right piece of wood periodically. It's part of the fun.

Only when setting up the stove for overnight should it be fully loaded and choked down ( one also learns this by trial and error).

In the morning, open it wide open and run it hot. This will clean up the deposits from overnite and start the daily burn cycle again.

STAY AWAY FROM THE KNOBS AND LEVERS.

I am anticipating that you have a lot to learn about modern wood stoves. ;-)

gerry100 said:
Default setting for the stove should be wide open air with the temp controlled by the size/amount of pieces you put in.