Will a corn stove work for me?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SplittingLogs

Nov 20, 2015
Wisconsin
Hey all, I'm a complete novice, but have found what appears to be a good used corn stove at a good price that I'd like to buy and install in my home. Unfortunately I don't own this old farmhouse, so I can't really go cutting holes in the exterior wall for the exhaust and intake. Rather, I'd like to install it in the middle of the house, connecting to the old chimney (which is otherwise not in use and has an access in the family room). Since it's not on an exterior wall, I would need to run the fresh air intake pipe down into the basement, through the rafters, and out an old dryer vent. I've read that this is doable using straight pipe (as opposed to flexible tubing) and particularly if you expand the size of the pipe to allow for more air movement. Does this make sense and am I on the right track, or am I putting the lives of my beautiful little family in danger? (Only half-kidding...) If somebody could respond with a few thoughts ASAP, I would appreciate it. I'm supposed to meet the seller tonight, but would like a second opinion before finalizing the deal. Thank you!