Will my ash and black birch be ready?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Razo

Burning Hunk
Jan 8, 2014
NEPA
This is my first year burning in a woodstove (open hearth last year) and also the first year that I have a moisture meter at my disposal (love this thing). I was checking the moisture content in my white ash and black birch and here are the results

white ash - 23% MC after being stacked since March 2014
black birch - 22% MC after being stacked since January 2014

I have them in full sun and wind at the moment and will be leaving them there for the time being. My plan was to start the year in mid to late October (weather permitting) with the white ash. I was planning on moving it up against my brick house next to my garage where it will be under a roof. It will still get the evening sun and some wind.

So my question is, do you think I will be ok burning this wood? I don't know if it will get down to 20% in that short amount of time (not likly) but I have even read that firewood below 25% is still ok, just not as ideal or efficient as wood left to dry to 20% and below. It is my first year and I am trying to get ahead, I really don't want to have to buy wood this year. If I didn't need it, I would gladly let it sit until next year but I could really really use it this winter.

Last edited:
Low 20's is good, sub 20's is excellent. It will continue to dry out with the weather as the temps cool down. Get it top covered before the wetter weather comes in the fall, and you'll be golden.