will my car pull a trailer?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

steeltowninwv

Minister of Fire
Nov 16, 2010
west virginia
i have been buying my wood for 2 years now.....but i wanna cut it bad..u guys have put this bug in me.....my problem is all i have to drive is a chevy cobalt...will this car pull a trailer with firewood loaded on it?

What year is it? It looks like most of them are rated at 1000lbs but honestly I would not recommend it.

You can still cut it--just buy log-length loads. If you're scrounging, it'd probably be ok to throw a small trailer on there (4x6 or so) with some small loads. The real issue would be the brakes, so if the terrain's fairly flat and you don't mind making multiple trips, give it a shot.

Just so you know, however: the cost of adding tow gear, a trailer, and the added wear & tear might not be worth the savings. It is fun to cut, though!

S

No, I don't think you can safely pull it.

You can probably get into a used truck for what it would cost to replace your transmission. Log loads are a good idea in the interim.

yeah looks like i will have to save up for a truck.....ugh ...man i really wanna cut next years wood this fall...guess this wont happen though

MarkinNC said:
No, I don't think you can safely pull it.

You can probably get into a used truck for what it would cost to replace your transmission. Log loads are a good idea in the interim.

A good perspective on the issue.

I towed my 600 lb. splitter home with a 2010 Ford Fusion SEL (Inline 4-cylinder, 175 hp @ 6000rpm). It did okay, but I don't want to do it again.