wiring auto controls for wood furnace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

acman

Apr 1, 2015
martinsburg wv
Well I just finished the wiring for my wood furnace to work automatically with my heat pump blower. Before you ask, no this was not easy, no it is not for every diy. I have 20 yrs of hvac service experience and I still found this to be a little brain struggle. HOW IT OPERATES. Basically when the ( only one ) thermostat calls for heat it will leave duct dampers in normal position, run heat pump(hp) if wood furnace(wf) is below 110. When wf temp is above 110 and it calls for heat, the duct dampers switch position, it will turn on draft inducer and open inducer damper. When wf reaches 145 then the blower comes on until either until wf temp drops below 115 or tstat satisfies. The temps may need some fine tuning, for this reason I chose digital switches with a 0-220 range and 1-30 differential. I had thought about how to wire this for many days. Used another transformer, 4 relays, 2 temp controls. Put it in a relay box. Im still waiting to get friends over to help get wf in cellar, but I tested controls AND IT WORKS! And no im not using a wf blower kit, I never liked the way it controls the house temp.

Welcome. Thanks for posting. I've moved it to the boiler room for better furnace exposure.

It's getting to be off season and this is your first posting, be patient.

Yea not much feedback on here