Wiring it altogether

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

phantom

Jul 3, 2008
MA
HI All,

I've been putting together my new Tarm Excel system for a couple months and now I'm finally near the finish. I still have some leaks to fix in the black pipe that makes up the plumbing to and from the boiler and then I have to wire it altogether and that's where my questions come in.

The system is plumbed according to the diagram below:

mypipinglayoutdec08ai4.jpg

Could someone please explain to me how to close the storage tank zone valve in these scenarios:
-tank circulator is running
-tank has reached temperature
-Oil burner on Excel is running

The aquastat for the storage tank is a Johnson Controls unit (I don't know the model # off the top of my head) which can be configured for a heating or cooling scenario. I'm thinking I may need an additional aquastat for the storage tank to function in a heating source capacity.

thanks in advance for any help,
Aaron

You could do it with a few relays and an aquastat. It sounds like you want it closed based on an OR'ing of 3 conditions:
-tank circulator is running
-tank has reached temperature
-Oil burner on Excel is running

To "OR" the 3 conditions, you need a signal for each one and you need to set them up in parallel. What signals do you have for each? For example, do you have a end switch for your circ? An aquastat for the tank (open on rise or open on fall?)?