Wood all over the place and I can't touch it!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kenster

Minister of Fire
Jan 10, 2010
Texas- West of Houston
This is the time of year that I live for. Cool, crisp Autumn days. This is my off season. I travel for a living and am gone from home up to 150 days a year. A friend of mine is a ranch manager and has given me access to several large oaks recently downed in storms. A neighbor down the road has a huge oak that fell recently right in the corner of his property next to the road. Easy pickin's. I've spotted two burn piles near here with freshly cut hickory and oak already bucked. And I have some good standing dead and storm damaged trees on my own property. Enough wood to keep me busy for a month and the fireplace going for a few years with our moderate winters here in Texas.

The problem? I broke my *$%(#(@* ankle a couple of weeks ago hanging a tire swing for my granddaughter. And apparently there is a bone chip in the ankle joint that must be surgically removed, so I'm going to be unable to pick up a chain saw or a maul for a few weeks at best. I have a new Stihl 390 with a muffler mod and a 16 inch bar, and a brand new Fiskars SS begging for me to lay hands on 'em. Fortunately, most of that wood is not going anywhere. I just hate to lose this great time of year to be outside working.