Wood burning stove Flue question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian83

Oct 26, 2016
ohio
stove.png
(i removed a firebrick)
save1.jpg

Hello all. I recently purchased a high valley model 1600 wood stove. I'm pretty new to wood burning and after purchasing this stove, getting it home and unboxing the stove it looks like the flue was half blocked by the insulation blanket and fire bricks. I was just curious if this is normal or if there is a certain amount of the flue that is allowed to be blocked. I took some pictures and drew a rough drawing of what the stove looks like. I'll be more then happy to answer any other question of take anymore pictures if someone can give me a definite answer. Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't have any experience with this kind of rear vent stove, but trying to think it out... The smoke probably hits the firebrick, which is really a baffle, that sit on top of the secondary air tubes. Then it goes up and over the baffle and ceramic wool and heads out over the top into the pipe.

I can see it being important that the firebrick and blanket are pushed up against the rear of the stove so that the smoke flow is right. It doesn't seem right that half the pipe is blocked.

If it's not something obvious like the baffle brick aren't in the proper location on the tubes, I'd say it's time for a call to the dealer or manufacturer.

Does the manual give any diagram or clarifications as to this?