Wood Cutting Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nickn

Apr 5, 2010
denville nj
Hello, I just picked up some of the well seasoned wood that I talked about in a previous post. Also that I mentioned in the post is that I’m a true rookie, so I have a truly rookie question. Some of the wood that I picked up is split and cut into 20 – 22 inch pieces, but my wood insert only takes pieces up to 18 inches, so what is the best way to cut them down, Chainsaw??? Also how to do without cutting foot off. Thanks for the help.

I would use a chainsaw but if you are at all serious about cutting your foot off, I would split it and then use a chop saw to take off the extra.

If you could make a little saw buck, or a jig of some sort you could keep it off the ground and away from your feet, etc. You could buy a clamp (the kind you squeeze) and hold the split on a board elevated by a cement block or something and that would hold in place. Sawing by hand would take forever.

nickn said:
Hello, I just picked up some of the well seasoned wood that I talked about in a previous post. Also that I mentioned in the post is that I’m a true rookie, so I have a truly rookie question. Some of the wood that I picked up is split and cut into 20 – 22 inch pieces, but my wood insert only takes pieces up to 18 inches, so what is the best way to cut them down, Chainsaw??? Also how to do without cutting foot off. Thanks for the help.

GolfandWoodnut has a good idea, this is the setup I made for cutting my wood down last winter.

zap

Attachments

• 100_0358.jpg
    100_0358.jpg