wood furnace in double wide mobile home?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sd3fan

Mar 10, 2014
va
I have a double wide mobile home with an inclosed porch/mudroom. I was wanting to know if a wood furnace could be put on the porch and hooked up to the existing vents under the home and if so how to go about it?

Sounds illegal most arnt mobile home approved but I'm not a pro others will chime in

Definitely possible, forgetting about the legal issues, it could be done, small wood stove with heating coil would be the way to go...IMO. The wood stove would warm the mud room, the coil would heat the living space...

Whatever you do, make sure each room, especially bedrooms, have a functioning window to crawl out of in a hurry. When a mobile home catches fire, it's a heck of a chimney. Stuck windows are not uncommon because of shifting of the home.

Going to a solid metal or big stone hearth on the floor around any wood burning device.

Getting a wood furnace to balance and perform as good as the existing one, might be a challenge., Forced air can be a bit tricky to do right.

a wood furnace could be put on the porch and hooked up to the existing vents under the home
That would make it a downdraft wood furnace, NO manufacturer will let you do this, so that means it would not meet code anywhere, or be insurable. Could it be done...sure...should it be...nope!