Wood furnace owners-UNITE!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Badfish740

Minister of Fire
Oct 3, 2007
Since we seem to be somewhat outnumbered here I figured it might be a good idea to start a wood furnace thread. As my signature states, I've been burning an Englander 28-3500 for six years now in a 1000 SF ranch-it takes about five cords a year to get through a New Jersey winter. My ductwork has always been crap (unbalanced, noisy, uneven heating/cooling, etc...), so eventually I'll be totally redesigning it. My hope is that I'll end up with a system that's quieter, even, and more efficient since it will be fully insulated. I'd love to hear from others who have redone their ductwork/optimized it for their wood furnaces. Or just from folks in general-always interested in hearing about/seeing other types of furnaces. The 28-3500 is an oldie but a goodie in my opinion-a smoke dragon for sure, but not if you run it correctly with good dry wood.

I had forced hot water, so when I got my furnace I was able to make my duct work optimal for it. No worries about power outages here. I can keep all 3 floors exactly at the temp I want them. best move I ever made.

What is your post exactly? Are you trying to stir up the wood vs pellet is better?? Not exactly sure what your thread is suppose to be about but unless you pull wood off your own land I'm not exactly sure what point your trying to get across???

No buzzsaw- just trying to come to the realization if the "op" is trying to stir the hornets nest or is.just friendly poking us since he feels he finally dialed in his system??