Wood furnace questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Farleyta190

Feb 22, 2015
Potsdam, NY
Hello all,

This is my first time posting and I am a novice at best when it comes to furnaces and HVAC. I am buying a house that has a fuel oil furnace as the primary heating source and it also has a wood furnace. Now I don't know the brand of either (I will in two days when I go back for the home inspection) but I had some basic questions which I think can still be answered.

I want to tie the wood furnace into the existing fuel oil furnace. My plan is to run the wood furnace supply into the fuel oil supply plenum to push heat through the existing duct work via the fuel oil furnace blower. I would place a back draft damper at the beginning of the wood furnace supply duct and maybe put a damper in the fuel oil supply plenum. Now won't the hot air from the wood furnace activate the blower on the fuel oil furnace if it sets of the limit switch in the supply plenum?

And I plan on keeping the thermostat set at about 55 or 60 so in case my fire goes out the fuel oils furnace can still kick on and supply heat to my house. I will tie the return duct work from the fuel oil furnace into the wood furnace. That is my plan. Each furnace has it's own chimney as well and all duct work is metal and I'm pretty sure all clearance requirements can be met. . Any thoughts, suggestions or problems with this plan. please share. Thanks