Wood Gasification vs outdoor wood furnace/boiler

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

epatrick

Apr 8, 2009
Northern Ontario
Hello folks,
Total noob to these forums but i've just started seriously looking into an alternative-to-oil heating solution for my very aged farmhouse...and I came across your little corner on the net and got hooked on reading all the posts.
Question: Is there such an animal as a wood-fired gasifier that can be used with an existing forced-air ductwork system, or do all gasifiers rely on a boiler hooked to water radiators. Is forced-air more efficient than radiator-based systems?
I would really have liked to go the geo-thermal route (I have the real estate to do it) but it seems it's WAY too expensive for my aging home.
All that being said, I also have an indoor dug well (about 13 feet deep, 36" across) that i do not use any more for my water supply - can it be used as a storage device for any kind of heating system I choose to adopt? My current woodstove is nowhere near air-tight and I go through ALOT of wood (from my own lot) in a winter - it uses a massive stone chimney though, that once heated acts as a terrific radiant source of heat.
Thanks in advance for any help/advice received!
Patrick.