Wood Gun and oil Usage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rlofty

Dec 31, 2014
Massachusetts
New to the wood furnace world. Just bought house with one and I am learning the ropes. I am not an HVAC expert by any means. I have a wood gun e180. There is also an oil furnace used as back up. I have tankless hot water. The wood gun seems to be running well. My problem is I am still burning oil - Would this be due to the oil furnace kicking on for the tankless hot water? The person I bought from said they burned little to no oil. They were just two people though. We are family of 5 - three girls.. Lots of showers, laundry and dishwasher running a lot. So wood furnace does nothing to provide hot water to house?

Depends how they are plumbed together & controlled. Pics may help.
Basically the wood gun is outside in the garage - piped under ground to the oil furnace. I assume the temp on water coming in from wood gun dictates whether the oil furnace fires. I am assuming it is an internal tankless system because don't see an external tank. If it is internal though I would think hot water from wood gun would be used to heat?

I would suspect the WG is just used to keep the oil boiler hot - then the rest of the system operation functions as if it was just the oil supplying the heat. As long as the WG keeps the oil boiler hot, it won't fire.

Could just be a matter of adjusting aquastat setting on the oil boiler. But more info would still help, and pics. Info like boiler & system temps?