Wood Gun vs Econburn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

heat4steve

Jul 15, 2009
Rochester Ny
First, I have no experience heating with wood to put things in perspective. I am deciding between the wood gun and the econburn. The wood gun seems to be better construction and boast that it can completely shutoff and a a result there is no need for thermal storage. In addition the wood gun does not require as dyr wood content as the econburn. Both units are pricey about $8000 for 150k BTU/hr (carbon steel only) although there are equivalent tax (1500) rebates. Any one have an opinion, recommendation, or experience that could help me with my desicion. Thanks

Any reason you're excluding Tarm and EKO from your list? Not to further confuse....just wondering.

I haven't heard many bad things about either boiler on this site. But I think in general you'll find more support for the Econoburn. I could be wrong, however....

I have never seen an Econoburn in person but have heard/read many good things about them. I recently bought a Wood Gun SS oil/wood boiler (to replace my old oil boiler) to avoid having chimney construction work done. Not installed yet but I can tell you it is built like a tank and weighs a lot! It relies more on mechanical functions as compared to some units that are very electrical for control and it seems most of the parts are available from most any heating/plumbing supplier. If I had a second chimney available I may have made a different decision...but my choices were limited.

stee6043 said: