Wood ID help please

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ajazz

Jun 10, 2015
Minnesota
Can anyone help ID these logs? I can get them for free from the local town brush drop-off, but I'm curious if anyone knows what types of logs these are. There aren't really any smaller branches with leaves to help with identification since those get put in a separate place. We've only had our stove for a year so I'm pretty new to tree ID and I'd love to learn so that I can ID them in the future. Thanks!
photo 1(1).jpg photo 2(1).jpg

Attachments

• photo 3(1).jpg
    photo 3(1).jpg
    74.5 KB · Views: 213
  • photo 4(1).jpg
    photo 4(1).jpg
    96 KB · Views: 227
The first one is Honeylocust, the rest I'd need to look at closer or am not quite sure....the 4th one might be Boxelder.

Welcome, ajazz. Second one looks to be the worst of the lot but I wouldn't swear to it. I would grab it all, just to be safe. ==c I agree with P.A., first looks like Honey.

When they are green its hard to judge quality by weight. But...generally, without knowing species, if its heavy as all hell and kills your back to lift it, its a pretty good chance it will provide good heat.
And grab what you can, Honeylocust is a keeper.
Just be watchful of vines. If you are at a dump, pull them off with a disposable glove.

Reactions: ajazz
Thanks for your help! We did go back and cut up what was there. It was super heavy! We have a small pickup and got three very large loads!!

Thinking pics 3&4 may be the same wood? That's not the dreaded Tree of Heaven, is it?