Wood ID please

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Shipper50

Minister of Fire
Nov 10, 2007
Indiana
I am still learning the wood we have here in Southern Indiana, here is a cut I did yesterday of a wind blown tree that I don't know for sure what it is. It splits easy with my famous Chopper Axe. The wood has a ring in the center on some of the pieces.

Thanks
Shipper

Added more pics for the mystery wood.

Thanks

Attachments

• wood1_450_600.jpg
    wood1_450_600.jpg
    49.6 KB · Views: 653
  • wood_450_600.jpg
    wood_450_600.jpg
    32.9 KB · Views: 635
  • wood2_600_450.jpg
    wood2_600_450.jpg
    61.2 KB · Views: 469
  • wood3_600_450.jpg
    wood3_600_450.jpg
    93 KB · Views: 460
  • wood4_600_450.jpg
    wood4_600_450.jpg
    67.9 KB · Views: 464
Looks like cherry in first picture. Second one...not so much. Wild cherry has a bark brown chip-like bark with a darker slightly reddish hue to the wood. Splits easy and very common.

Is it incredibly lightweight? Does it have a distinct odor when burning?

Stephen in SoKY said:
Is it incredibly lightweight? Does it have a distinct odor when burning?
No and No, its not light but not heavy. Its just cut, so still to moist to burn. When I split it with my Chopper Axe it had a core like center. Never saw any wood like this up north.

Shipper

I don't know what poplar looks like in other parts of the country, but it don't look like that here in southern Indiana. The wood does but the bark doesn't. Any more bark pics you could show us?

webby3650 said: