Wood ID?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hfd45178

Sep 25, 2014
Dutchess County, NY
Well I've been lurking around here for a while before joining and have gotten a lot of usefull info. I'm new to burning and am working on collecting wood for my new jotul f500. Have a friend with property that is offering a huge supply of wood however I'm not sure what it is. Hopefully someone has seen this type before and will have some good news about it. The trees no longer have any bark and have been down for about a year. The wood splits decent but is slightly stringy. Thanks.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    234.6 KB · Views: 135
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    370.7 KB · Views: 138
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    238.8 KB · Views: 134
Very tough to tell from the pics. Best to have a split open so we can see the inside. I would also suggest elm.

If its dry, I would just call it firewood . Hard to tell from the pics , elm possibly.

It looks like Elm Standing dead at least 3 years .
Looks like starting to rot soft to punkie in the split pieces
I do a lot of Elm standing dead from my fence lines

Thank you for the replies. Looks like I will be heading over there for a few loads. Free wood seems hard to turn down even if it isn't the greatest.

Elm would also explain all the axe marks without a split!

Elm is the worst wood I have ever split. Pain from beginning to end. Decent firewood though in the end.