wood id

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

chris

Mar 26, 2012
Mass
Hi all been lurking for a while, just posting now. This is our first year in a new house with a nice woodstock soapstone stove. Bieng my first year burning, i am a novice at identifying wood. I came across a buddy with a lot of this wood for me free for the taking, but i want to make sure its worth my efforts to cut haul and split as its been on the ground for 2 years or so, and in 8-12 foot lengths, about 2 feet in diameter if i had to guess. A buddy of mine said he thinks its cedar, but i want to know for sure. I brought a small load home already to try, and it splits wicked easy, and burns good and long, but im not getting the 500-550 degree burns that i was with the oak i had before. I've only been able to get up to around 4-450. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• untitled.JPG
    untitled.JPG
    177.8 KB · Views: 163
Its pretty hard to tell from the picture what it is. It looks alot like wet red oak to me. Does it have a vinegary-like smell to it? A close-up picture would really help.

Reactions: smokinj
Its pretty hard to tell from the picture what it is. It looks alot like wet red oak to me. Does it have a vinegary-like smell to it? A close-up picture would really help.
Looks like oak to me to!

Ok, i'll give it a sniff tonight, and try to get a closer picture. Thanks! But at any rate do you guys think its a good find and worth my time? Theres a TON of it.

Reactions: ScotO