Wood insert DIY questions and outside combustion air questions.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tomWright

Sep 27, 2008
N. New Jersey
Hello folks.

New here. I have been dithering for a few years about replacing my current oil burning warm air heat with something else. It will probably be gas, after I considered a pellet furnace and decided it was not for me, or the N. NJ area. Too unusual for an area this wealthy, it would be tough if I ever sell. Not to mention Insurance.

But I am going to get a wood burning insert for my existing fireplace. This is for supplemental heat on weekends and other times I am at home, to keep the bills down, as well as to make the fireplace more usable.
I am not choosing pellet burning because I want to be able to burn fallen wood from my property as well as putting junk-mail to good use, in addition to free and purchased firewood.

Home is a <1500 sq ft ranch, wood frame, wood shingle outside walls, drywall inside, 8 foot ceilings, typical mid 1950's vintage. Decent attic insulation, I added R30 just after purchase, wall insulation is middling to poor. Full basement. Not a tight house, but not too drafty.

FP is about 36 inches wide and 26 inches high. It is 26 inches deep measured about halfway up, deeper at the floor and shallower at the top. Mantle is all brick, no wood surround or shelf.