Wood insert with blower & ash drawer???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lobsta1

Sep 6, 2007
Eastern Ma.
I've been heating with wood for the last 30 years. Last 15 with an old Russo sitting in my fireplace. I would like to replace it with a modern insert. I don't want to give up the ash drawer. Does anyone make an insert with a blower & an ash drawer?
Thanks
Al

I haven't done exhaustive research, but when I was looking for my insert (Avalon Rainer) it seemed that the closest you could get to an insert with an ash drawer was hearth mounting a stove. There are a number of freestanding stoves that come with short leg kits or in the case of Dutchwest, the legs can be off completely. In addition to DW, Vermont Castings, Jotul, & Hearthstone all have such models. Seems that every modern insert has their fan mounted on the front bottom which negates an ash drawer. Best wishes as you search!

Energy King and the Vermont Casting Winter Warm are the only ones I am aware of that have an ash pan on the insert. The Energy King isn't available in a whole lot of places.

To make a True insert with an ash pan would make the stove to tall to fit into most fireplaces
You would be giving up firebox size for an ash pan.

Cleaning out thge ash is a pain in the ash. After a while you get good at it though. Take some out every 3 days if burning 24/7. BTW use a covered pail, it makes a big difference. If you are burning right the ash is very fine.