Wood pellet mixture

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Lineman30

Feeling the Heat
Jul 9, 2010
Northeastern Oklahoma
I was wondering what the experts thought of a fuel mixture of 60% of hardwood and 40% pecan shells. How will it burn? Hot or not? I'm new to the form but having been burning 3 years on a quadra fire classic bay 1200. Have used ozark and natures resource. Wasn't to impresses with nature resource ozark was alright. I can get a ton of pellets for $165 and they are called ko-zee hardwood pellets .

I believe it is going to be pressed into the pellet

Hi Lineman, welcome to the forum.

I have no clue about shell burning, but are you talking about mixing them yourself? Ko-Zee website is almost non existant and does not mention shell mix, so I assume you are mixing yourself.

If it is a new start up, be carefull. Rule of thumb around the forum is to try a few bags before buying a ton. 165/ton is a great price, but not worth it if they dont burn well.

Good Luck !!!!

geno

Lineman30 said:
I believe it is going to be pressed into the pellet

From what a member here has said. The Quads have issues with the nut shells. But being they are pelletized you should be fine. Nut shells don't have the high BTU value of wood fiber. They will not burn as hot as a 100% wood pellet. But they should produce decent heat at the 60/40 ratio. You should expect a higher ash content as well! Probably around 1.2% at best!

Like G says, Best to try some first. You don't wanna get stuck with a lemon!

What are good pellets going for in you area?