wood pellet question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TomPajak

Mar 1, 2007
Amsterdam,NY
im new to this wood pellet scene so go easy..lol...
does anyone make a beeper to tell you when your pellets are low?
if so where can i get one?

thank you for any help

Welcome to the hearth. On a serious note, DUCK. This may get a little rough, but it will help. I think you are in another time. Be gentle ladies and gentlemen, remember he said he was new.

That's not a bad idea, actually, though I haven't seen one.

From what I understand the burn rate is slow enough that you can just check the levels when you get around to it until you get a feel for consumption. There is no penalty for topping the hopper up early but letting it run out can add a little work to the job plus let your room cool off.

you could put a proximity sensor in the bin, actually, the PF100 has one...it lights a little LED telling you its low, but Im guessing some of the more electrical savvy guys here could suggest it can actuate analarm as well.

You know the first thing I thought of was the Pellet furnace. But that is on a different floor than the t-stat (i hope)....
Maybe just adding pellets once to twice a day would suffice. :)